Yesterday, the 2012 BET Awards nominations were announced during a press conference in New York City which was attended by the likes of Melanie Fiona, Big Sean, Diggy Simmons, DJ Khaled, ASTRO and A$AP Rocky.  And it’s no surprise that the usual suspects like Kanye West and Beyonce are leading the pack this year.

Kanye West snagged 7 nominations, six of which he shares with Jay-z which included Best Group, Best Video (N-ggas In Paris & Otis ) Best Collaboration (Otis), Viewers Choice Award for ‘Otis’, and Best Video Director. He also snagged a another nod for Best Collab for his work with Big Sean and Roscoe Dash on ‘Marvin & Chardonnay’. Beyonce joined Kanye West in The Best Video Director category and snagged addition nominations for Video Of The Year (Love On Top & Countdown), Best Collaboration (‘Party’ featuring J Cole) and Best Female R&B Artist.  Chris Brown trailed Beyonce with three nods which included Best Video Director,  The Viewer’s Choice Award and Best R&B Male Artist.

Semi newcomer J. Cole didn’t make the cut for Best New Artist, however, he snagged another nomination in the Best Rap Artist category along with Big Sean, Drake, Young Jeezy, Rick Ross and Lil Wayne.   Other interesting categories include Best Female Rapper which included Nicki Minaj, Trina, Diamond and Briana Perry and Best Group which included Bad Meets Evil, Diddy-Dirty Money, Maybach Music Group, Mindless Behavior and The Throne.

Samuel L. Jackson will be hosting the show this year which will honor the legendary soul/funk group Frankie Beverly & Maze with the Cadillac Lifetime Achievement Award (Get ready to get out of your seats for this one!! ).  Chris and Nicki Minaj are already confirmed to perform and other performers will be announced shortly.

Check out the full list of nominees below:

‘Centric Award’



Robert Glasper

Robin Thicke


Best Movie

‘Good Deeds’

‘Laugh At My Pain’

‘Red Tails’

‘The Help’

‘Jumping the Broom’

Viewers’ Choice

Beyonce — ‘Love on Top’

Chris Brown — ‘Turn up the Music’

Drake, Lil Wayne & Tyga — ‘The Motto’

Mindless Behavior –

Jay-Z & Kanye West — ‘Otis’

Wale & Miguel — ‘Lotus Flower Bomb’

Best Female Hip-Hop Artists


Nicki Minaj


Brianna Perry

Best Male Hip-Hop Artists

Big Sean


Lil Wayne

J Cole

Rick Ross

Young Jeezy

Best Group

Bad Meets Evil

Diddy Dirty Money

Maybach Music Group

Mindless Behavior

The Throne

Best Female R&B Artist



Marsha Ambrosius

Melanie Fiona

Best Male R&B Artist

Chris Brown

Bruno Mars


Trey Songz


Best Collaboration

Beyonce ft. J Cole — ‘Party’

Big Sean ft. Kanye West & Roscoe Dash — ‘Marvin Gaye & Chardonnay’

DJ Khaled, Drake, Lil Wayne & Rick Ross — ‘I’m On One’

Drake, Lil Wayne & Tyga — ‘The Motto’

The Throne — ‘Otis’

Wale & Miguel — ‘Lotus Flow Bomb’

Best New Artist

A$AP Rocky

Big Sean

Diggy Simmons


Meek Mill

Video Director of the Year

Beyonce & Allen Ferguson

Benny Boom

Chris Brown & Godfrey Tabarez

Kanye West & Hype williams

Video of the Year

Beyonce — ‘Love on Top’

Beyonce — ‘Countdown’

The Throne — ‘N—s in Paris’

The Throne — ‘Otis’

Usher — ‘Climax’

Tune in on July 1 at 8p.m. when the show airs live from Los Angeles.